The sky is crying

0317fc38-561d-4d30-bf4d-fca3ae7b0bf6-2060x1236

“So, never be afraid. Never be afraid to raise your voice for honesty and truth and compassion, against injustice and lying and greed. If you, not just you in this room tonight, but in all the thousands of other rooms like this one about the world today and tomorrow and next week, will do this, not as a class or classes, but as individuals, men and women, you will change the earth.”  William Faulkner

I look to the sky where there is no longer comfort for me.  The pulse of my heart drowning the cries infiltrating the veins of the earth.  Crying out in sprays of blood and tears are all the world’s poor, the marginalized, the forgotten, collateral damage, soft targets. In the past it was dreams, and  peace and music I saw shining from up in the sky.  The vibrations of the stars pulling me in so many directions I just let go to experience it all.  Now, I’d rather not even look.  I have been running for two days.  There is smoke underneath my shoes and I am tired, oh so tired.  Words mean nothing because they can mean anything if they are placed in a certain way.  Human beings have become nothing but varying degrees of targets.  It is because they let fear control them, I can hear you say.  I’m not quite sure that is just it anymore.  I have set out upon this journey, only now this is coming into focus; to get to the heart, that dark spot, the root of all this.  I believe it is more than just fear.  I  can barely think with the sound of bombs and guns crashing in all directions.  I figured it out long before they thought I could.  None of it is real.  I sift through the smoke.  I can’t tell this to those really suffering from the reigning skies.  Suffocating in the blood of their kin.  Because we all are targets if we can still feel, and think, and bleed for freedom.  From where I sit, it is not real…yet I feel all of it and I’m choking on the pain of others.  Distractions, that’s how this keeps happening.  “It in effect counts all military-age males in a strike zone as combatants, according to several administration officials, unless there is explicit intelligence posthumously proving them innocent.”  Keeps the civilian body count down doesn’t it?  I know I’m just ranting.  I know you don’t want to hear this as you sit in the comfort of your living room.  But there are children, women, human beings, with one shot at life and they are not allowed to live.  Children whose childhood is stolen from them as the low constant hum of drones fly overhead.  Haunted by a sky that should bring them comfort and hope, instead it delivers fear and hatred.  Never knowing when they’ll be gone or their parents will be taken from them.  Can we have one real reason why this should be possible anymore.  I want the children in Pakistan, the children everywhere, to have a night of peaceful sleep.  I don’t want to see anyone attacked by toys, toys that have been haunting Them since childhood.  Attacked because they are different, or are they attacked because they are really the same, and this is the biggest fear.  If we figured out we were all the same all of this wouldn’t be possible now would it?  The world is all a game to those with the power.  This is the secret…shhhhh, please keep it a secret.  Another secret, my mountain was not destroyed, the volcano didn’t erupt, I am just feeling things, feeling it all at a million miles an hour.  Our religion is being written with every new breath and for this I am labeled a terrorist, labeled a terrorist by terrorists…I must keep running from all of the shadows continuously chasing me.  It’s no bother though, I’ve grown use to it, I just close my eyes and tell myself I’m not here as the soul of all of us writes me a new tomorrow

” from the NY Times

 

Leave a Reply

